top of page

My Journey to Radiating Beauty Inside and Outside


Dear Skinny Black Girl,

Growing up, I was the only dark skinned girl out of my group of friends. I didn’t think I was pretty; here I was tall, thin and black. I didn’t have light eyes; I didn’t have curves or long curly hair like most of my friends. I use to wish I looked different. When I felt less beautiful, my state of mind allowed me to exude that lack of confidence.

Later, finding out that everything I disliked about myself is everything everyone admired me for. I think we often get caught up in the superficial world, believing that what we see on TV is a reality of what beauty is. Beauty is endless, and it is something you possess and have to find within yourself to exude so that everyone can feel its presence. Beauty is not about skin color, hair, or body type, it’s about how you view yourself and choose to radiate that presence to others.

Sincerely,

Ashley Tarver

Chicago, IL

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page