top of page

Tanisha Hall inspires young black girls not to fit in, but 'stand out'

 

The Skinny Black Girl’s Code had the opportunity to learn more about Tanisha Hall, screenwriter of “Sonar.” Tanisha’s purpose is to write stories the uplift and empower a young generation of women who may go though social or self-esteem issues. She is currently writing a new short film about a girl that has her life turn upside down when she loses a brother in during a tragedy.

The San Bernardino native discusses her childhood and how confidence and the belief in herself and abilities have contributed to her past and present success. She is striving to help break barriers in the film industry, where less than 10 percent of writers and are a female or a minority, according to a 2014 Hollywood Diversity Report.

Learn more about Tanisha’s background, advice, and future career moves in the interview below:

Growing up, would you say that you felt confident about your appearance and abilities?

When I was younger, I wouldn’t say that I grew up with a lot of confidence. I grew up in the “Inland Empire” or San Bernardino, which is minutes away from Los Angeles. It was a suburban area where I grew up around different races. I often tried to figure out where I fit. Growing up in a diverse city, I saw a standard in San Bernardino that young black girls had to follow. It seemed to me that if you were black you had to fit the stereotype; drink, smoke weed. Talk to all the popular guys. You never really saw too many black girls doing anything artistic. If so, it didn't look cool. I wasn't the fast girl, the loud girl, or the party girl. I went to school trying to better myself but had so much trouble fitting in the right crowd. My school was segregated. The only time other races really talked was during class. Outside of that, people chose their own crowd and who they wanted to be affiliated with.

I’ve gotten so confident with myself that I can wear any style and be myself – not anyone else. A lot of young girls are trying to figure out where they fit in the black community – they shouldn’t worry. Do what makes you comfortable so you can feel complete. When you know who you are, know your sexuality and self, it intimidates other people because they likely don’t know who they are.

I have a 15-year-old stepsister who struggles to find her identity. I always tell her, “be yourself don’t try to impress anybody. You don’t want to be a follower. You want to be a leader.” That is bigger than anything. It’s cool to keep up with the latest but do it for you and not just to get noticed.

What confidence barriers do women face when going into the film industry? How have you overcome them?

By living in LA, I quickly saw that there were not many women, especially women of color, in the industry. I thought there would be more unity for women of color. I haven’t had the best experiences in L.A but I can’t complain too much because out of every situation I have learned something. For example, I joined a popular organization for black screenwriters but still found that the unity I was seeking was still void. However, I have learned to watch some of the greats from a distance. I study the work of Issa Ray, the “Awkward Black Girl.” I feel like the message that she is promoting is opening doors for African-American women. Recently, I have met a producer in the industry, and she has been a great supporter. I also credit a lot of support to an early mentor in San Bernardino – Lea. Lea has always been a positive influence and has always encouraged me to live my life for the better.

How have you learned to overcome negativity in your career?

I’ve overcome negative people by pouring it all into my writing. I've always strived to keep pushing harder and harder. The doors will eventually open.

What’s the next big step you foresee for your career?

My next step is finding an agent in the industry that believes in my work and has the passion for helping me reach the next level.

How does film and mainstream media contribute to the positive or negative portrayal of the body types of black women?

If girls don’t have the willpower and education to look between the lines of what is shown in the media, you will find that more women will get their bodies “done” because they are not comfortable with themselves. When you have to go through the extreme measures of getting surgeries done to your body, there will be physical, mental and emotional side effects. I say woman should learn to love themselves. If you want to change your body, aim to get healthy, eat right, go to the gym and get fit. It’s nothing wrong with living healthy.

I am a writer. I am not trying to be a vixen or model, and I believe that this says a lot in today’s day and age. I believe that women and young girls shouldn’t pay attention to what everyone else does on social media. Live your life. You don’t want to live for everyone else just yourself.

Do you have any regrets in your career journey?

When I was younger, my mind wasn’t where it needed to be. I wish I had more focus to pinpoint which direction I wanted to go. God instilled people like Lea in my life to try to help me do better and become a better person. Now that I am focused, I have been able to meet amazing people who believe in me. If I could tell anyone who doesn’t have clarity in their purpose, I would ask them, “ What do you want in life, how bad do you want it, and are you focused?”

What can black women do to overcome diversity issues in the film industry?

I feel like black female actress should avoid taking stereotypical roles in films that do not portray us in a positive light.

Ultimately, I feel like the best way to overcome diversity issues is to learn how to work more together. I would love to see black film professionals collaborate rather than work against each other. Let’s make it together and continue to make good films!

What advice do you have for women and young girls who may be dealing with self-esteem issues?

A family member once told me to look in the mirror and tell myself, “You are beautiful.” I started to say it to myself and said it over and over and over. Self-confidence has to come within. No one can tell you who you are and who you are going to be. You have to tell yourself who you are going to be. You can be anything in this life; it depends on how bad you want it. Don’t be a follower, be a leader. All the things you see on TV are not real. TV shows are for entertainment only. Focus on something that you are passionate about and build confidence within yourself.

To learn more about Tanisha Hall, connect with her on Twitter, Instagram, or Facebook. You can also visit her website here.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page